ACM recognizes excellence through its eminent series of awards for outstanding technical and professional achievements and contributions in computer science and information technology.


Awards Nominations

Please note that the deadline for submission of nominations for 2014 is November 30, 2014 for all awards, with the following exceptions:

Nominations Content

Nominations for the 2014 Awards should be submitted electronically to the respective chairs listed below or to the ACM Awards Committee Liaison, Rosemary McGuinness

As a general rule, each nomination submitted should consist of at least the following items:

  1. Name, address, phone number, and email address of person making the nomination.
  2. Name, address, and email address of candidate for whom an award is recommended.
  3. A statement (between 200 and 500 words long) as to why the candidate deserves the particular award.
  4. Supporting letters from a minimum of two endorsers.
  5. For the Turing Award a minimum of three endorsement letters should be provided. Successful Turing Award nominations include substantive letters of support from a group of prominent individuals broadly representative of the candidate's field or related field impacted by the candidate's contribution.
  6. For the Karl V. Karlstrom Outstanding Educator Award, a CV and listing of the candidate's Ph.D. students and their current positions are requested. It would be helpful to include the candidate's CV for all other award nominations.
  7. For the Grace Murray Hopper and the ACM-Infosys Foundation Award, nominations should include a current vitae and the age of the candidate.

Nominations for the 2014 awards should be submitted to the respective chairs listed below:

2014 Award Subcommittee Chairs and Members

A.M. Turing Award

For full information please see the ACM A.M. Turing Award Nominations page.  Nominations should be sent to Rosemary McGuinness, ACM Awards Committee Liaison

Chair: Barbara Liskov, MIT CSAIL


Committee Members

ACM - Infosys Foundation Award

Nominations Solicited:

Nominations are invited for the 2014 ACM – Infosys Foundation Award. The ACM – Infosys Foundation Award in the Computing Sciences recognizes personal contributions by young scientists and system developers to a contemporary innovation that, through its depth, fundamental impact and broad implications, exemplifies the greatest achievements in the discipline. The award is accompanied by a prize of $175,000. Financial support for the award is provided by an endowment from the Infosys Foundation.

Nomination Form  Endorsement Form

Nominations should include:

  1. A current vitae, listing the age of the candidate, publications, patents, honors other awards, etc.
  2. A nomination letter from the principal nominator, which describes the work of the nominee, and draws particular attention to the contributions which are seen as meriting the award.
  3. Substantive supporting letters from at least three, and no more than five, endorsers. The letters should come from prominent individuals familiar with the nominee's contributions and no more than two from the same institution.
  4. A short citation of 25 words or less should be included in the nomination.

Nominations should be sent to the Chair of the ACM – Infosys Foundation Award:

Chair: Sue Whitesides, University of Victoria


Committee Members

Grace Murray Hopper Award

Chair: Stuart Russell, University of California, Berkeley

Committee Members

Distinguished Service Award

Chair: Robert Schnabel, Indiana University

Committee Members

Outstanding Contribution to ACM Award

Chair: Mary Lou Soffa, University of Virginia 

Committee Members

Software System Award

Chair:  Nigel Shadbolt, University of Southampton 

Committee Members

Doctoral Dissertation Award

Chair: Margaret Martonosi, Princeton University

Committee Members

For more details, see the Nomination Submission Procedures.

Karl V. Karlstrom Outstanding Educator Award

Chair: Andrew McGettrick, University of Strathclyde  

Committee Members

ACM Fellows

Chair: Susan Dumais, Microsoft Research 

Committee Members

For more details, ACM Guide For Fellow Nominations

For questions on the Fellows Program, contact Rosemary McGuinness

Distinguished Member

Chair: Linda M. Northrop, Carnegie Mellon University  

Committee Members

For more details, see the Distinguished Member Nomination Guide.

For questions on the Distinguished Member Program, contact Rosemary McGuinness

Senior Member

Chair: Evelyn Duesterwald, IBM Research   

Committee Members

For more details, see the Senior Member Nomination Guide.
For questions on the Senior Member Program, contact Rosemary McGuinness

Gordon Bell Prize

For submissions, please go to SC14 Submissions Site.

Chair: Adolfy Hoisie, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory 

Committee Members

ACM – AAAI Allen Newell Award

Chair: Paul Rosenbloom, University of Southern California (USC) 

Committee Members

Paris Kanellakis Theory and Practice Award

Chair: Satish Rao, University of California, Berkeley

Committee Members

ACM – IEEE CS Eckert Mauchly Award

Chair:  Mark D. Hill, University of Wisconsin-Madison 

ACM Representatives

ACM – IEEE CS Ken Kennedy Award

Chair: Mary Hall, University of Utah

ACM Representatives

ACM-IEEE CS George Michael Memorial HPC Fellowships

Chair: David A Bader, Georgia Institute of Technology 

ACM Representatives

International Science and Engineering Fair (ISEF)

Chair: Tim Korb, Purdue University  

Committee Members

Eugene L. Lawler Award for Humanitarian Contributions within Computer Science and Informatics (Biennial)

Chair: Eric Brewer, University of California, Berkeley 

Committee Members

SIAM/ACM Prize in Computational Science and Engineering (Biennial)

Chair: Carol Woodward, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory (LLNL) 

Committee Members

Award Committee Co-Chairs

Cherri Pancake, Oregon State University 

Vinton Cerf, Google


SGB Award Committee Liaison

Donald Kossmann, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, Zurich