SIGACT – Algorithms and Computation Theory

SIGACT Godel Prize

Awarded annually for an outstanding paper (or collection of papers) in the area of theoretical computer science that appeared in a journal during the previous fourteen years. The award includes a prize of $5,000. Sponsored jointly with the European Association for Theoretical Computer Science. Presented alternately at the ACM Symposium on Theory of Computing and the International Conference on Automata, Languages, and Programming.

SIGACT Knuth Prize for Outstanding Contributions to the Foundations of Computer Science

Awarded annually by ACM SIGACT and the IEEE Technical Committee on the Mathematical Foundations of Computing. The prize includes a $5,000 award and a $1,000 travel stipend for travel to the award ceremony. The prize is awarded for major research accomplishments and contributions to the foundations of computer science over an extended period of time. Prizes are awarded alternately at the ACM STOC and the IEEE Conference on Foundations of Computer Science.

SIGACT Service Prize

Awarded annually for outstanding contributions of a service nature to the SIGACT community. The prize includes $1,000 and a $700 travel allowance.

SIGACT Danny Lewin Best Student Paper Award

Awarded annually for the best student paper presented at STOC. The award includes a prize of $500.

SIGACT/SIGOPS Edsger W. Dijkstra Prize in Distributed Computing

Cosponsored by EATCS, and given alternately at PODC or DISC to an outstanding paper on the principles of distributed computing, whose significance and impact on the theory and/or practice of distributed computing has been evident for at least a decade. The winning authors will share a cash award of $2,000, and each will be presented with a plaque at the business meeting.


Visit website

2017 Gödel Prize Recognizes Paper on Data Privacy

The Association for Computing Machinery’s Special Interest Group on Algorithms and Computation Theory (SIGACT) and the European Association for Theoretical Computer Science (EATCS) have announced that Cynthia Dwork (an ACM Fellow), Frank McSherry, Kobbi Nissim and Adam Smith are the recipients of the 2017 Gödel Prize for their paper, "Calibrating Noise to Sensitivity in Private Data Analysis".

ACM Awards Knuth Prize to Pioneer of Algorithmic Game Theory

The 2016 Donald E. Knuth Prize will be awarded to Noam Nisan of the Hebrew University of Jerusalem for contributions to theoretical computer science in areas including communication complexity, pseudorandom number generators, interactive proofs, and algorithmic game theory. It will be presented at the Symposium on Foundations of Computer Science (FOCS 2016) in October.