ACM recognizes excellence through its eminent series of awards for outstanding technical and professional achievements and contributions in computer science and information technology.

Recent Award News

Dan Boneh receives 2014 ACM-Infosys Foundation Award in the Computing Sciences

Dan Boneh's work was central to establishing the field of pairing-based cryptography where pairings are used to construct new cryptographic capabilities and improve the performance of existing ones. Boneh, in joint work with Matt Franklin, constructed a novel pairing-based method for identity-based encryption (IBE), whereby a user's public identity, such as an email address, can function as the user's public key. Since then, Boneh's contributions, together with those of others, have shown the power and versatility of pairings, which are now used as a mainstream tool in cryptography. The transfer of pairings from theory to practice has been rapid. Organizations now using pairings include healthcare, financial, and insurance institutions. Over a billion IBE-encrypted emails are sent each year.

More generally, Boneh has made significant contributions to a broad range of applications in cryptography and computer security, including: anti-phishing tools, compact digital signatures, password protection, fingerprinting of digital content, electronic voting, spam filtering, and side-channel attack analysis. Boneh has also made seminal contributions in a variety of other areas, such as DNA computing and learning theory.

Boneh is recognized "For ground-breaking development of pairing-based cryptography and its application in identity-based encryption."

Press Release

ACM will present the 2014 ACM-Infosys Foundation Award at its annual Awards Banquet on June 20, 2015 in San Francisco, CA.

Michael Stonebraker, Pioneer in Database Systems Architecture, Receives 2014 ACM Turing Award 

Michael Stonebraker is being recognized for fundamental contributions to the concepts and practices underlying modern database systems.  Stonebreaker is the inventor of many concepts that were crucial to making databases a reality and that are used in almost all modern database systems. His work on INGRES introduced the notion of query modification, used for integrity constraints and views. His later work on Postgres introduced the object-relational model, effectively merging databases with abstract data types while keeping the database separate from the programming language.

Stonebraker's implementations of INGRES and Postgres demonstrated how to engineer database systems that support these concepts; he released these systems as open software, which allowed their widespread adoption and their code bases have been incorporated into many modern database systems. Since the pathbreaking work on INGRES and Postgres, Stonebraker has continued to be a thought leader in the database community and has had a number of other influential ideas including implementation techniques for column stores and scientific databases and for supporting on-line transaction processing and stream processing.

Press Release
In the ACM DL

ACM will present the 2014 A.M. Turing Award at its annual Awards Banquet on June 20, 2015 in San Francisco, CA.

ACM Names Fellows For Innovations In Computing

ACM has recognized 47 of its members for their contributions to computing that are driving innovations across multiple domains and disciplines. 

The 2014 ACM Fellows, who hail from some of the world’s leading universities, corporations, and research labs, have achieved advances in computing research and development that are driving innovation and sustaining economic development around the world.  ACM President Alexander L. Wolf acknowledged the advances made by this year’s ACM Fellows. “Our world has been immeasurably improved by the impact of their innovations. We recognize their contributions to the dynamic computing technologies that are making a difference to the study of computer science, the community of computing professionals, and the countless consumers and citizens who are benefiting from their creativity and commitment.”

ACM will present the 2014 A.M. Turing Award at its annual Awards Banquet on June 20, 2015 in San Francisco, CA.

Press release