About the ACM Prize in Computing

The ACM Prize in Computing recognizes an early to mid-career fundamental innovative contribution in computing that, through its depth, impact and broad implications, exemplifies the greatest achievements in the discipline. The award carries a prize of $250,000. Financial support for the award is provided by Infosys Ltd.

The ACM Prize in Computing was previously known as the ACM-Infosys Foundation Award in the Computing Sciences from 2007 through 2015.


Recent ACM Prize News

ACM Honors Shwetak Patel with ACM Prize in Computing

ACM has named Shwetak N. Patel of the University of Washington and Google the recipient of the 2018 ACM Prize in Computing for contributions to creative and practical sensing systems for sustainability and health. Patel and his students found highly creative ways to leverage existing infrastructure to make affordable and accurate monitoring a practical reality. He quickly turned his team’s research contributions into real-world deployments, founding companies to commercialize their work.

2018 ACM Prize recipient Shwetak N. Patel

“New Ways of Thinking of the Mobile Phone for Healthcare” Lecture at 7th HLF

In his debut lecture at the 7th Heidelberg Laureate Forum, Patel describes a collection of research projects conducted with his clinical collaborators that leverage the sensors on mobile devices (such as microphones, cameras, and accelerometers) in new ways to enable the screening, self-management and longitudinal study of diseases.

Seminal Papers by 2018 ACM Prize Recipient Shwetak Patel

"ElectriSense: Single-Point Sensing Using EMI for Electrical Event Detection and Classification in the Home" UbiComp 2010 (with Sidhant Gupta, Matthew S. Reynolds)

"HydroSense: Infrastructure-Mediated Single-Point Sensing of Whole-Home Water Activity," UbiComp 2009 (with Jon E. Froehlich, Eric Larson, Tim Campbell, Conor Haggerty, James Fogarty)

"Bilicam: using mobile phones to monitor newborn jaundice," UbiComp 2014 (with Lilian de Greef, Mayank Goel, Min Joon Seo, Eric C. Larson, James W. Stout, James A. Taylor)

"SpiroCall: Measuring Lung Function over a Phone Call," CHI 2016 (with Mayank Goel, Elliot Saba, Maia Stiber, Eric Whitmire, Josh Fromm, Eric C. Larson, Gaetano Borriello)

"HemaApp: Noninvasive Blood Screening of Hemoglobin using Smartphone Cameras," UbiComp 2016 (with Edward Jay Wang, William Li, Doug Hawkins, Terry Gernsheimer, Colette Norby-Slycord)

"Making Sense of Sleep Sensors: How Sleep Sensing Technologies Support and Undermine Sleep Health," CHI 2017 (with Ruth Ravichandran, Sang-Wha Sien, Julie A. Kientz, Laura R. Pina)

"BiliScreen: Smartphone-Based Scleral Jaundice Monitoring for Liver and Pancreatic Disorders," Proceedings of the ACM on Interactive, Mobile, Wearable and Ubiquitous Technologies (IMWUT) Volume 1 Issue 2 (UbiComp 2017) (with Alex Mariakakis, Megan A. Banks, Lauren Phillipi, Lei Yu, James Taylor)

"CapHarvester: A Stick-on Capacitive Energy Harvester Using Stray Electric Field from AC Power Lines," Proceedings of the ACM on Interactive, Mobile, Wearable and Ubiquitous Technologies (IMWUT) Volume 2, Issue 3 (UbiComp 2018) (with Manoj Gulati, Farshid Salemi Parizi, Eric Whitmire, Sidhant Gupta, Shobha Sundar Ram, Amarjeet Singh)