About ACM India Doctoral Dissertation Award

The ACM India Doctoral Dissertation Award was established in 2011. This award recognizes the best doctoral dissertation from degree-awarding institutions based in India for each academic year, from August 1, 2021 to June 30, 2022 particularly in the current cycle. Note that the cut-off date for dissertation defense has been advanced by a month to June 30, 2022 from this year onwards.  The ACM India Doctoral Dissertation Award is accompanied by a prize of ₹2,00,000. An honorable mention award, if any, is accompanied by a prize of ₹1,00,000. The dissertation(s) will be published in the ACM Digital Library. Tata Consultancy Services Limited (TCS) is the founding sponsor of the ACM India Doctoral Dissertation Award.

ACM India 2021-2022 Doctoral Dissertation Award

Suhail Sherif of Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai has received the ACM India Council's 2021-2022 Doctoral Dissertation Award for "Communication Complexity and Quantum Optimization Lower Bounds via Query Complexity." Honorable Mentions went to Suprovat Ghoshal of Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru, for "New Algorithmic and Hardness Results in Learning, Error Correcting Codes and Constraint Satisfaction Problems;" and to Vrunda Dave of Indian Institute of Technology Bombay, Mumbai, for "On Some Fundamental Problems and Applications of Word Transducers."

2021 ACM India Doctoral Dissertation Award recipient Shikhar Vashishth and Honorable Mention recipient Roohani Sharma

Career-Long Contributions

Early-to-Mid-Career Contributions

Specific Types of Contributions

Student Contributions

Regional Awards

SIG Awards

How Awards Are Proposed