About ACM Athena Lecturer Award

This award celebrates women researchers who have made fundamental contributions to Computer Science.  Each year ACM honors a preeminent woman computer scientist as the Athena Lecturer. The recipient gives an invited talk at a major ACM conference of her choice. A video of the talk is made available on the ACM website.  The award carries a cash prize of $25,000.  Financial support for the Athena Lecturer Award is provided by Two Sigma.


Recent Athena Lecturer Award News

ACM Names Éva Tardos 2022-2023 Athena Lecturer

ACM has named Éva Tardos of Cornell University as the 2022-2023 Athena Lecturer. Tardos is recognized for fundamental research contributions to combinatorial optimization, approximation algorithms, and algorithmic game theory, and for her dedicated mentoring and service to these communities. Tardos is one of the most influential leaders in the field of theoretical computer science and an outstanding educator, mentor, and leader in her scientific community.

2022-2023 ACM Athena Lecturer Éva Tardos

Career-Long Contributions

Early-to-Mid-Career Contributions

Specific Types of Contributions

Student Contributions

Regional Awards

SIG Awards

How Awards Are Proposed