About ACM Software System Award

Awarded to an institution or individual(s) recognized for developing a software system that has had a lasting influence, reflected in contributions to concepts, in commercial acceptance, or both. The Software System Award carries a prize of $35,000. Financial support for the Software System Award is provided by IBM.


Recent Software System Award News

Software System Award Goes to Three for Pioneering Open Source Initiatives

ACM named Margo Seltzer, Michael Olson and Keith Bostic recipients of the 2020 ACM Software System Award for Berkeley DB, which was an early exemplar of the NoSQL movement and pioneered the “dual-license” approach to software licensing. Seltzer and Bostic founded Sleepycat Software to continue development of Berkeley DB and provide commercial support. Olson joined in 1997, and for 10 years, Berkeley DB was the de facto data store for major web infrastructure.

2020 ACM Software System Award recipients Margo Seltzer, Michael Olson and Keith Bostic

Career-Long Contributions

Early-to-Mid-Career Contributions

Specific Types of Contributions

Student Contributions

Regional Awards

SIG Awards

How Awards Are Proposed