About ACM Doctoral Dissertation Award

Presented annually to the author(s) of the best doctoral dissertation(s) in computer science and engineering.  The Doctoral Dissertation Award is accompanied by a prize of $20,000, and the Honorable Mention Award is accompanied by a prize totaling $10,000. Winning dissertations will be published in the ACM Digital Library as part of the ACM Books Series.


Recent Doctoral Dissertation Award News

Doctoral Dissertation Award Recognizes Young Researchers

Cornell University graduate Manish Raghavan receives the 2021 ACM Doctoral Dissertation Award for significant contributions to the understanding of algorithmic decision making and its societal implications, including foundational results on issues of algorithmic bias and fairness. Honorable Mentions go to Dimitris Tsipras of Stanford University, Pratul Srinivasan of Google Research, and Benjamin Mildenhall of Google Research.

Manish Raghavan, Dimitris Tsipras, Pratul Srinivasan, Benjamin Mildenhall

Career-Long Contributions

Early-to-Mid-Career Contributions

Specific Types of Contributions

Student Contributions

Regional Awards

SIG Awards

How Awards Are Proposed