Latest from ACM Awards

John Hennessy and David Patterson Receive 2017 ACM A.M. Turing Award

ACM has named John L. Hennessy, former President of Stanford University, and David A. Patterson, retired Professor of the University of California, Berkeley, recipients of the 2017 ACM A.M. Turing Award for pioneering a systematic, quantitative approach to the design and evaluation of computer architectures with enduring impact on the microprocessor industry.

They delivered the Turing Lecture at the ISCA conference on June 4. View a video of the Lecture.

2017 ACM A.M. Turing Award recipients John L. Hennessy and David A. Patterson

Dina Katabi Receives 2017 ACM Prize in Computing

ACM has named Dina Katabi of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology’s Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence Laboratory (MIT CSAIL) the recipient of the 2017 ACM Prize in Computing for creative contributions to wireless systems. She and her team pioneered the use of wireless signals in applications that can sense humans behind walls, determine their movements and even surmise their emotional states. These trailblazing human-sensing technologies hold out promise for use in several applications of daily life.

2017 ACM Prize in Computing recipient Dina Katabi

ACM Names Andrea Goldsmith 2018-2019 Athena Lecturer

ACM has named Andrea Goldsmith of Stanford University as the 2018-2019 Athena Lecturer. Goldsmith was cited for contributions to the theory and practice of adaptive wireless communications, and for the successful transfer of research to commercial technology. She introduced innovative approaches to the design, analysis and fundamental performance limits of wireless systems and networks, and helped develop technologies used in long-term evolution cellular devices, and Wi-Fi standards for wireless local area networks.

2018-2019 ACM Athena Lecturer Andrea Goldsmith

Project Jupyter Team Honored for Developing Open Source Tools for Interactive Computing

Fernando Pérez , Brian E. Granger, Min Ragan-Kelley, Paul Ivanov, Thomas Kluyver, Jason Grout, Matthias Bussonnier, Damián Avila, Steven Silvester, Jonathan Frederic, Kyle Kelley, Jessica Hamrick, Carol Willing, Sylvain Corlay, and Peter Parente received the 2017 ACM Software System Award for developing Jupyter, a broad collaboration that develops open source tools for interactive computing, with a language-agnostic design.

Researcher in Simulation of Human Circulatory System Receives Hopper Award

Amanda Randles has been named the recipient of the 2017 ACM Grace Murray Hopper Award for developing HARVEY, a massively parallel circulatory simulation code capable of modeling the full human arterial system at subcellular resolution and fostering discoveries that will serve as a basis for improving the diagnosis, prevention, and treatment of human diseases. The Hopper Award recognizes outstanding young computing professionals.

Read a People of ACM interview.

2017 ACM Grace Murray Hopper Award recipient Amanda Randles

Kanellakis Award Honors Pioneer in Network Queueing

Scott Shenker has been named the 2017 ACM Paris Kanellakis Theory and Practice Award recipient for pioneering contributions to fair queueing in packet-switching networks, which had a major impact on modern practice in computer communication. His work was fundamental to helping the internet grow from a tool used by a small community of researchers, to a staple of daily life used by billions.

2017 ACM Paris Kanellakis Theory and Practice Award recipient Scott Shenker

ACM and AAAI Recognize Thought Leader in Cognitive Science

Margaret Boden is the recipient of the 2017 ACM – AAAI Allen Newell Award for her contributions to the philosophy of cognitive science, particularly in the cognitive study of human creativity, and to its historiography. For four decades, Boden has been one of the world’s premiere thought leaders on the intersection of artificial intelligence, cognitive science and the humanities.

2017 ACM – AAAI Allen Newell Award recipient Margaret Boden

ACM Honors Jan Cuny with Distinguished Service Award

Jan Cuny has been named recipient of the 2017 ACM Distinguished Service Award for the establishment and tireless promotion of projects that have nationally transformed computer science education by increasing and diversifying access to high-quality CS education. Her contributions included development of a new national Advanced Placement computer science course and exam.

Photo of ACM Distinguished Service Award recipient Jan Cuny

Karlstrom Educator Award Goes to Judith Gal-Ezer

Judith Gal-Ezer was named recipient of the 2017 ACM Karl V. Karlstrom Outstanding Educator Award for her central role in developing a groundbreaking high school computer-science curriculum; her outstanding computer science education research; and her extensive service to the education community. Her approach moved away from conventional pedagogies, which prioritized coding, to emphasizing the underlying ideas of computer science.

Photo of ACM Karl V. Karlstrom Outstanding Educator Award recipient Judith Gal-Ezer

ACM Recognizes William Wulf with Policy Award

William Wulf has received the 2017 ACM Policy Award for his pioneering work in computing policy, including his service as Board Chair of the National Research Council’s (NRC) Computer Science and Telecommunications Board, Director of the National Science Foundation’s Computer & Information Science and Engineering Division, and President of the National Academy of Engineering.

2017 ACM Policy Award recipient William Wulf

ACM Recognizes Steve Bourne for Outstanding Contributions

Steve Bourne has received the 2017 Outstanding Contribution to ACM Award for significant contributions to ACM, particularly for reaching out to practitioners through the development of the Practitioners Board and ACM Queue, and for his support of students worldwide through his engagement with, and support of, the ACM International Collegiate Programming Contest (ICPC).

2017 Outstanding Contribution to ACM Award recipient Steve Bourne

Doctoral Dissertation Award Recognizes Young Researchers

Aviad Rubinstein of Stanford University has received ACM's 2017 Doctoral Dissertation Award for establishing the intractability of the approximate Nash equilibrium problem and other important problems between P and NP-completeness. Honorable Mentions went to Mohsen Ghaffari of ETH Zurich for novel distributed algorithms, and Stefanie Mueller of MIT for demonstrating how to make personal fabrication machines interactive.

Aviad Rubinstein, Mohsen Ghaffari and Stefanie Mueller

ACM President Honors Three with 2018 Presidential Award

ACM President Vicki L. Hanson has recognized three individuals for their time and talents in service to ACM with the ACM Presidential Award: Donald Gotterbarn for his role as chief architect of ACM’s Code of Professional Ethics; Andrew McGettrick for his commitment to computer science education; and Fabrizio Gagliardi for ensuring the organization’s activities, services, and influence extend throughout Europe.

Donald Gotterbarn, Andrew McGettrick, and Fabrizio Gagliardi

ACM, CSTA Announce Cutler-Bell Prize Student Winners

ACM and the Computer Science Teachers Association have announced the 2017-2018 winners of the ACM/CSTA Cutler-Bell Prize in High School Computing. The award recognizes computer science talent in high school students and comes with a $10,000 prize, which they will receive at CSTA's annual conference in July.

ACM Announces 2017 ACM/IEEE-CS George Michael Memorial HPC Fellowship Recipients

Shaden Smith of the University of Minnesota and Yang You of the University of California, Berkeley have been named recipients of the 2017 ACM/IEEE-CS George Michael Memorial HPC Fellowships. The Fellowships will be formally presented at SC17 in November.

Read the ACM news release.

2017 ACM/IEEE George Michael Memorial HPC Fellowship recipients Shaden Smith and Yang You