About ACM Frances E. Allen Award for Outstanding Mentoring

ACM Frances E. Allen Award

Presented biennially to an individual who has exemplified excellence and/or innovation in mentoring with particular attention to recognition of individuals who have shown outstanding leadership in promoting diversity, equity, and inclusion in computing.The award is presented at the ACM Award Banquet and is accompanied by a prize of $25,000 to the awardee, and an additional $10,000 cash contribution to an approved charity of the awardee’s choice. Financial Support is provided by Microsoft Research.


Recent ACM Frances E. Allen Award News

Margaret Martonosi Receives 2023 ACM Fran Allen Award

ACM named Princeton University's Margaret Martonosi the recipient of the ACM Frances E. Allen Award for Outstanding Mentoring. Martonosi is recognized for outstanding and far-reaching mentoring at Princeton University, in computer architecture, and to the broader computer science community. Martonosi, the Hugh Trumbull Adams ’35 Professor of Computer Science at Princeton University, is a leader in the design, modeling, and verification of power efficient computer architecture. She also recently served as the National Science Foundation Assistant Director leading the Directorate for Computer and Information Science and Engineering.

2023 ACM Fran Allen Award Recipient Margaret Martonosi

Career-Long Contributions

Early-to-Mid-Career Contributions

Specific Types of Contributions

Student Contributions

Regional Awards

SIG Awards

How Awards Are Proposed