Special Interest Group (SIG) Awards


ACM's Special Interest Groups (SIGs) regularly cite outstanding individuals for their contributions in more than 30 distinct technological fields. Click on the links below to see descriptions of the awards from each SIG. For information on the selection criteria for these awards, please contact the Chair of the sponsoring SIG directly.

















SIGAda Award Recipients

ACM’s Special Interest Group on Ada (SIGAda) announced the recipients of two awards recognizing outstanding technical contributions and distinguished service. Fabien Chouteau is the recipient of the 2022 ACM SIGAda Robert Dewar Award for Outstanding Ada Community Contributions for broad, lasting contributions to Ada technology & usage. Luis Miguel Pinho received the 2022 ACM SIGAda Distinguished Service Award for his exceptional contributions to SIGAda activities & products.

Design Automation Conference (DAC) Awards

The 2022 Design Automation Conference announced a pair of awards that have been conferred. The Marie R. Pistilli Women in Engineering Achievement Award was awarded to Michelle Clancy, CEO of Cayenne Global and marketing leader in the EDA sector. The Design Automation Conference Under-40 Innovators Award was received by Yanjing Li (University of Chicago), Luca Amaru (Synopsys), Hesham Omran (Ain Shams University), and Guangyu Sun (Peking University).

2021 SIGMM Award Recognizes Outstanding Technical Contributions

ACM's Special Interest Group on Multimedia (SIGMM) has named Jiebo Luo the recipient of its 2021 Outstanding Technical Contributions to Multimedia Computing, Communications and Applications Award in recognition of his outstanding pioneering and continued research contributions in the areas of multimedia content analysis and social media analytics, and for outstanding and continued service to the multimedia community.

ACM SIGMM Award recipient Jiebo Luo

2021 SIGMM Rising Star Award Recognizes Multimedia Contributions

ACM's Special Interest Group on Multimedia (SIGMM) has named Jingkuan Song of the University of Electronic Science and Technology of China the recipient of the 2021 Rising Star Award in multimedia computing, communications and applications for his significant contributions in multimedia compact representation and analysis.

ACM SIGMM Rising Star Award recipient Jingkuan Song

2018 SIGMOBILE RockStar Award

Kyle Jamieson received the 2018 SIGMOBILE RockStar Award in recognition of his outstanding early-career contributions and impact in the field of wireless computer networks. Jamieson is an Associate Professor in the Department of Computer Science at Princeton University.

2018 SIGMOBILE Outstanding Contribution Award

Teresa Meng has received the 2018 SIGMOBILE Outstanding Contribution Award for groundbreaking research, engineering and entrepreneurial leadership to make Wi-Fi faster, lower power, and lower cost. Meng is the Reid Weaver Dennis Professor in Electrical Engineering, Emerita at Stanford University.

Photo of 2018 SIGMOBILE Outstanding Contribution Award recipient Teresa Meng

Career-Long Contributions

Early-to-Mid-Career Contributions

Specific Types of Contributions

Student Contributions

Regional Awards

SIG Awards

How Awards Are Proposed

SIGHPC 2022 Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Award

ACM’s Special Interest Group on High Performance Computing (SIGHPC) announced that Dr. Maciej Besta of ETH Zürich has won the 2022 SIGHPC Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Award. This award is given each year for the best doctoral dissertation completed in high performance computing (HPC) in the previous year, and includes a $2,000 cash prize, a plaque, and recognition at the International Supercomputing Conference in November. Dr. Kazem Cheshmi of University of Toronto received Honorable Mention.

Cynthia Dwork Receives 2020 SIGACT Donald E. Knuth Prize

Cynthia Dwork has received ACM SIGACT's 2020 Donald E. Knuth Prize for her sustained record of contributions to theoretical computer science over the past four decades. Her research has transformed several fields, most notably distributed systems, cryptography, and data privacy, and, more recently, fairness in algorithmic decision making.
ACM news release

Photo of Cynthia Dwork

2018 SIGACT/SIGOPS Edsger W. Dijkstra Prize in Distributed Computing

ACM PODC and EATCS have awarded the 2018 Edsger W. Dijkstra Prize in Distributed Computing to Bowen Alpern and Fred B. Schneider for their paper "Defining Liveness." The Prize is awarded for outstanding papers on the principles of distributed computing, whose significance and impact on the theory and/or practice of distributed computing have been evident for at least a decade.

Photo of Bowen Alpern and Fred B. Schneider