SIGMOD - Management of Data

SIGMOD Contribution Award

Given to recognize a significant contribution to the field of database systems through research funding, education, professional services, etc. The award includes a prize of $1,000.

SIGMOD Edgar F. Codd Innovations Award

Given to honor a significant contribution to the field of database systems through research during the past ten years that has been reduced to practice and is in wide use. The award includes a prize of $10,000.

SIGMOD Test of Time Award

Recognizes the best paper from the SIGMOD proceedings 10 years earlier, based on the criterion of identifying the paper that has had the most impact (research, products, etc.) over the intervening decade.The award includes a prize of $1,000.

SIGMOD Jim Gray Doctoral Dissertation Award

Given to recognize excellent research by doctoral candidates in the database field.  The award includes a plaque and the opportunity to present the work at the SIGMOD conference. The award includes a prize of $1,000.

PODS Alberto O. Mendelzon Test-of-Time Award

Awarded every year to a paper or a small number of papers published in the PODS proceedings ten years prior that had the most impact in terms of research, methodology, or transfer to practice over the intervening decade.  The award includes a plaque and $1,000.

SIGMOD Systems Award

Awarded to an institution or a set of individuals to recognize the development of a software or hardware system that has had significant impact on the theory and practice of large-scale data management systems. The award includes a plaque and a prize of $10,000.


Visit website

Join an ACM SIG

Network with like-minded professionals and enjoy unique opportunities to share technical expertise and first-hand knowledge of the latest trends.

SIGGRAPH Asia 2019, November 17 to 20, Brisbane, Australia

The 12th ACM SIGGRAPH Asia Conference and Exhibition on Computer Graphics and Interactive Techniques will showcase some of the world’s top professionals, academics and creative minds at the forefront of digital imaging, research, science, art, animation, gaming, interactivity, education and emerging technologies. Keynote speakers are Donna J. Cox (National Center for Supercomputing Applications), Jeffrey Shaw (City University of Hong Kong) and Inigo Quilez (Shadertoy).

SC19, November 17 to 22, Denver, Colorado

At the International Conference for High Performance Computing, Networking, Storage and Analysis, panels will address exascale; democratization of HPC; quantum computing; Big Data and AI; sustainability of research; and more. The program also includes a series of activities geared toward students, and a Visualization & Data Analytics video showcase. Steven Squyres, Principal Scientist for the Mars Exploration Rover Project, will deliver the keynote.