About ACM-IEEE CS George Michael Memorial HPC Fellowships

Endowed in memory of George Michael, one of the founding fathers of the SC Conference series, the ACM IEEE-CS George Michael Memorial Fellowships honor exceptional PhD students throughout the world whose research focus areas are in high performance computing, networking, storage, and large-scale data analysis. ACM, the IEEE Computer Society, and the SC Conference support this award. 

Fellowship winners are selected each year based on overall potential for research excellence, the degree to which technical interests align with those of the HPC community, academic progress to date, recommendations by their advisor and others, and a demonstration of current and anticipated use of HPC resources. The Fellowship includes a $5,000 honorarium, plus travel and registration to receive the award at the annual SC conference.

Recent HPC Fellowships News

ACM Announces 2016 ACM/IEEE-CS George Michael Memorial HPC Fellowship Recipients

Axel Huebl of Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf (Technical University of Dresden) and Johann Rudi of The Institute for Computational Engineering and Sciences (The University of Texas at Austin) have been named recipients of the 2016 ACM/IEEE George Michael Memorial HPC Fellowship. The Fellowships will be formally presented at SC16 in November.

2016 ACM/IEEE George Michael Memorial HPC Fellowship recipients Axel Huebl and Johann Rudi