Mateo Valero

Digital Library

ACM Distinguished Service Award

Spain - 2012


For extraordinary leadership of initiatives in high-performance computing research and education, including the HiPEAC European Network of Excellence and the Barcelona Supercomputing Center.

Dr. Valero has been a passionate and effective advocate for advancement of computer architecture and high-performance computing research, and in nurturing others to pursue this research field.

Dr. Valero has worked tirelessly on many fronts: making a strategic case for major funding initiatives at the regional, national and EU levels; serving as a founding coordinator of HiPEAC, a European Network of Excellence in the area of high-performance and embedded computing systems that involves more than 800 European researchers; ensuring that such initiatives benefit science research more broadly; fostering academic-industry cooperation; and hosting numerous visitors and conferences in the region of his institution, Universitat Politecnica de Catalunya.

Initiatives in which Dr. Valero has played a leading role include: the European Center for Parallelism of Barcelona (CEPBA, 1990), the Catalan Center for Computation and Communications (1995-2000), the CEPBA-IBM Research Institute (CIRI, 2000-2004) and the Barcelona Supercomputing Center. The last of these is a national treasure that serves scientific and industrial users and has a worldwide reputation.

An eminent researcher and research advisor in his own right, Dr. Valero's support of students includes the Advanced Computer Architecture and Compilation for High-Performance and Embedded Systems (ACACES) summer school for PhD students in computer architecture (since 2005). Dr. Valero's track record in advising and nurturing students, as well as his leadership in his field, have been much appreciated by his colleagues worldwide.

Press Release

ACM-IEEE CS Eckert-Mauchly Award

Spain - 2007


For extraordinary leadership in building a world class computer architecture research center, for seminal contributions in the areas of vector computing and multithreading, and for pioneering basic new approaches to instruction-level parallelism.

ACM Fellows

Spain - 2002


For contributions to the design of vector, superscalar, and VLIW architectures, and technical leadership.